For locations, hours, and more information with regard to the County Clerk’s office, follow this link: https://arcc.sdcounty.ca.gov/Pages/marriage-licenses.aspx
10 common questions you may have:
You can apply for a marriage license at any of the County Clerk’s office’s throughout the state. In San Diego County, you must schedule an appointment by calling (619) 237-0502. You can download the form online ahead of time HERE. You and your spouse-to-be will have to both appear in person at your scheduled appointment and bring valid picture identification, such as:
– A state issued identification card;
– Driver’s license;
– Passport; or
– Military identification.
To expedite the identification process, it is also recommended that both parties bring a certified copy of their birth certificate.
Generally, the sooner, the better! The optimum time frame is anywhere from four to six months or even as far out as 18 months – depending on your situation. You’ll find that there will be many moving parts! Guaranteeing that you’ll get your desired date, venue, wedding band, officiant, etc. is a great argument for planning ahead.
A marriage license is a document issued, either by a church or state authority, authorizing a couple to marry and is valid for 90 days anywhere in California. A marriage certificate is a document that proves you are married.
Typically, couples obtain a marriage license from the county clerk’s office, hold the wedding ceremony, and then have the officiant file the signed license in the county clerk’s office within a few days. The married couple will then be mailed a certified copy of the marriage certificate.
California requires both spouses, the officiant, and one or two witnesses to sign the marriage license. This is often done just after the ceremony.
The cost for a marriage license in California varies from county to county. It will cost you between $35.00+ and $100.00+ to get married in California.
In San Diego County it will cost you $70 for a public license and $89 for the confidential marriage license.
No. California — along with most states — has done away with mandatory premarital physical exams or blood tests. Historically, states required blood tests for venereal diseases, and a few also tested for rubella, sickle-cell anemia, and tuberculosis.
No state requires mandatory HIV/AIDS testing, but most states require that marriage license applicants be offered such tests or information where they can obtain a test.
No. You and your significant other do not need to be California residents to marry in California.
Get married! Once you have your marriage license it’s time for the ceremony. The ceremony may be as simple or elaborate as you desire — it’s your special day! It can be performed at the venue of your choice, such as a church, a wedding chapel, the beach, or a civil ceremony which may be performed at the County Clerk’s office.
Once the license is signed by the married couple, the officiant, and one or two witnesses, you are officially and legally married.
After the ceremony, we, the folks at Your San Diego Wedding, will return the signed license to the County Clerk’s office for recording. Certified copies may be purchased one week later.
The Name Equality Act allows one party or both parties to a marriage, through the marriage license process, to elect to change the middle and/or last names by which that party wishes to be known after solemnization of the marriage.
If you choose not to change your name at the time you purchase your marriage license, you may not add or amend this information on the marriage license/certificate at a later date. If, after issuance of the marriage license but before the ceremony, you decide you want to have your new name added to the marriage license, you must purchase a new marriage license and have the old license voided.
Please refer to the Name Equality Act for more information.